Skip to content ↓

The Ebbsfleet Academy

A Brook Learning Trust Academy

Our Governance

The Ebbsfleet Academy Governance

The Academy Council is the foundation stone of the system of governance operating across Brook Learning Trust and has replaced the Local Governing Body. All three academies in the Trust have Academy Councils and councillors’ advocacy and monitoring roles are replicated across each.

For more information about how the new system of governance operates please follow this link to the Brook Learning Trust website:

Following recent elections, we are extremely pleased to announce the membership of the newly formed Academy Council:

Roles & Responsibilities


Chair of Academy Council                    

Martin Knapp

Vice Chair of Academy Council

Ian Daker

Health & Safety Link Councillor

Penny Marsh

Safeguarding Link Councillor

Caitlin Page

Pupil Premium / SEND Link Councillor

Kyle Stealey

Student Advocate Councillor

Peter Swaffield

Staff Advocate Councillor

Nerissa Day

Parent Advocate Councillor


Community Liaison Councillor

Rev Penny Marsh

Standards Panel

Martin Knapp

Audit & Risk Committee


Finance Committee

Martin Knapp

You will note that there a number of councillor roles listed above and each has its own unique remit. The Academy Council will be meeting again on Wednesday 18 October, following which your Councillors will be sharing with you an overview of their roles and details of how they will be working alongside academy staff and the Trust to support our school.

If you are interested in joining the Academy Council we would like to hear from you.  Please contact the Clerk, Alie Bird, at or 01580 712754 ext 277.

27 September 2017, Trust Clerk

Other members 

Principal Clerk
Alison Colwell Alie Bird